jump to navigation

Holistic medicine has a place November 7, 2007

Posted by Dreamhealer in Alternatives.
trackback

This past week, I found myself obliged to serve as an expert witness for the defense in a medical malpractice lawsuit. This was not because I am inclined to defend my profession in general (I often find my sympathies go the other way), but because in this case, I felt an unfortunate outcome had nothing to do with malpractice. The case involved holistic care, and that is the topic to which I would like to devote some reflections.

After practicing primary care Internal Medicine for a number of years, I became the director of a holistic clinic, the Integrative Medicine Center in Derby in 2000 (see http://www.imc-griffin.org). As a result, I have first-hand knowledge of why patients seek holistic (aka alternative, complementary, unconventional) care. At times, it is because they have a strong philosophical preference for natural treatments. But mostly, it is because the conventional treatments they have received have simply not gotten the job done.

Read More ….

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

