jump to navigation

The Power of Self-Healing March 2, 2010

Posted by Dreamhealer in Alternative medicine.
trackback
By Loolwa Khazzoom

Originally published in Massage & Bodywork magazine, September/October 2009. Copyright 2009. Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals. All rights reserved.

Following a hit-and-run, head-on car collision in 1997, I joined the ranks of millions of Americans living with chronic pain. Turning to both the conventional and complementary healthcare system, I soon found myself spinning through a nightmare common to those seeking chronic pain relief. I was misdiagnosed, refused tests, dismissed as a hypochondriac, physically injured, emotionally traumatized, and financially drained by the very practitioners who were supposed to help me heal. As a result, I ended up not only in pain, but also in despair.

By 2005, I had sunk so low that contemplating suicide had become as much a part of my morning routine as drinking a cup of coffee. That year, a friend dragged me out of my urban apartment–which I had become afraid to leave–and took me to a bodywork retreat in the middle of the desert. The morning after we arrived, I participated in a gentle yoga class that ended with a meditation.

Read More…

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

